Prescription Drug Discussion Forums  

Go Back   Prescription Drug Discussion Forums > Medication Discussions > Specific Drug Discussions > Benicar

Notices

Old 06-02-2005, 06:00 AM
Julie

Default benicar

I started taking benicar on Oct 10. I am a retired nurse with systolic hypertension(systolic 150-165). I had been taking hydrochlorothiazide with very little change in bp. I was started on 40 mg of benicar daily. There was almost no change in bp for the first 2 weeks, By the third week my systolic pressure was in the 130's. However,I felt terrible. I was anxious, irritable and my joints began to hurt. I have a connective tissue disease and I thougt that I might be having an attack. Although, I have not had any joint symptoms in 10 years. On Oct 31, I became extremely dizzy and my systolic had dropped to 100. I stopped taking the benicar on Nov 2. I went to see my physician on Nov 7. I had difficulty getting up from a chair without feeling that I was going to faint. I hurt all over and<br>was tired and anxious. My physician did blood work and checked me over. He really did not listen very well to my symptoms.I told him that I couldn't tolerate the dizziness. He acted as if I was not being objective about the medicine and said that it was too bad that I couldn't take it because " It's a good medicine". I was left rather frustrated when he pressed a sample bottle of Norvasc in my hand and told me to try that. I knew that there was something else wrong with me, but he wouldn't listen. In the past week, I have had Rotater Cuff surgery because I had a bad tear. I was having the rotator pain when I went to my physician, but that didn't cause hip, knee and foot pain. I do not have any anxiety,dizziness ,joint or foot pain and I am only 10 days out from the surgery. I am convinced that the Benicar was responsible for the dizziness, joint pain, and the anxiety feelings. Now my problem is that my systolic pressure has returned to the 150's and I am scared to take the Norvas